Disney and CrossFit: Words that may not belong together

Posted: September 26, 2014 in Masters Competition
Tags: , ,

I’m here at Mickey World in Orlando for the Disney Fitness Challenge. I signed up for this event months ago after a long deliberation about the worth of paying a $175 entry fee. I have never paid that much to compete in an event.

When I was doing triathlons years ago you could do a race for $50 or $75. Most of the 5k and 10ks I ran were even less. I also ran three Disney marathons and even they didn’t cost that much. But, hey, it’s Disney, it’s got to be spectacular, right? Plus, I have a Disney timeshare, which I purchased when my daughter was a toddler and I haven’t used it much lately.

Disney ShirtBefore I go any further I’m going to confess that I have a wee bit of an ax to grind with Disney for destroying some of the most beautiful natural habitat in Florida and creating this phony never-never land where – if they could figure out a way to do it – they would charge you to blink your eyes.

Owning a timeshare here makes it even more teeth grinding because everywhere you go there are these people with frighteningly sincere smiles saying “Welcome Home.” They’re everywhere. In the parking lot. On the phone. In the lobby. Who are these people? Don’t they know that this is a freakin’ timeshare?

This is Disney’s first CrossFit event. It’s at the ESPN Wild World of Sports Complex. I figured with Disney’s obsession with perfection and ESPN’s muscle behind it, this would be the best organized CrossFit event in the universe. Wrong.

At first Disney told us it was a three day event – Friday, Saturday and Sunday. So, I book my timeshare/home for four nights – Thursday-Sunday. Then, about six weeks before the event, Disney decides it’s just going to be a two-day event. Ooops. Sorry to all you folks who made HOTEL AND PLANE RESERVATIONS FOR THURSDAY!

The event has a Facebook page – actually two FB pages – but it was rarely used to disseminate info to the athletes. When the WODs were finally posted, there were no details or video explaining the movements and standards. Now, I know CrossFit is about being prepared for the unknown but when you put the phrase “25 yard hurdles” in a WOD for Masters Women, you really should follow up by telling us HOW MANY HURDLES THERE WILL BE IN THAT 25 YARDS AND HOW HIGH THEY WILL BE!

I picked up my packet tonight – something I always look forward to because there is usually some nice stuff – samples and coupons – in the swag bag along with the shirt. I get my bag, look in it and there is a shirt. Just a shirt, nothing else. It’s a nice shirt but at this point I’m looking at it and thinking, this shirt cost me $175. A pair of Mickey ears would have been nice.

They have a lot of rules here at Disney. Only small coolers are allowed. No dogs. If you are not in the athlete briefing area 15 minutes before your heat you will be given last place.

I fear there also will be no expo – which means NO SHOPPING FOR COOL CROSSFIT STUFF. Oh the humanity.

I’m going to bed now and try not to have a nightmare about jumping over hurdles.

 

 

 

Leave a comment